Random Compliment

Today I was at the gym running. I didn’t feel great and also didn’t feel like I performed to my ultimate ability, but I worked as hard as I could based on how I felt. When I finished running, I was sweaty, tired and felt like I probably worked harder than I thought.

As I walked away from the treadmill, a woman on the stairmaster said, “Wow, girl! You kicked butt on that treadmill. You just made me pick up my speed. Nice workout!” I said, “thanks” and smiled and felt awesome that I encouraged her simply by my actions. By running a little faster and challenging myself, I convinced the woman behind me to kick it up a notch – and I didn’t even have to say a word. Her letting me know about her secret motivation meant a lot to me. It was the perfect exchange of an action and a compliment.

So here’s the point. Sometimes we think things and never say them because we are worried that someone might think we are weird or random. Or we don’t talk to others because we don’t think we have the energy to strike up a conversation, etc. (we can find a million reasons to NOT do something – all are selfish). Next time you think something positive, say it. Who cares if it’s a stranger or your best friend. It just might make their day and make them feel a little bit better.

When you think it, just say it. Actions might speak louder than words, but words are what we listen to the most, and what gets our attention.

Pay it forward…

2 responses to “Random Compliment

  1. I couldn’t agree more. What a great world it would be if everyone shared compliments without hidden agendas. Just to share a positive thought with someone creates a role effect like throwing a rock into an otherwise still lake…it just keeps going. Have a great day today…just decide to…it’s easy.

  2. That is such a great point, Jen! Thank you so much for sharing that crystal clear piece of wisdom.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

