Due to my twitter obsession…

From twitterberry to twhirl, I am addicted to leaving posts, checking other tweets and reading interesting sites tweeted by my twitter associates. I check my replies, direct messages and look for people to follow who can add value to my feed and provide me with resources I might not have found otherwise…it is the amazing world of twitter!

Because my obsession is well-known, I was recently asked by a few newcomers and a social media enthusiast to compile a list of twitter applications I use to optimize my ability to stay connected.

So here goes a quick overview:

Twitterberry – Twitterberry is a Blackberry application that allows you to update, read your feed, get replies, send replies and direct messages, and view the public timeline.

Twhirl – Twhirl is for Mac users. It is a desktop application that allows you to be logged in and read your updated twitter feed, reply, send direct messages, mark tweets as favorites, follow new people and a few other capabilities. It shows a pop-up when you receive replies or direct messages and every so often when updates are posted by your followers.

Search function – The twitter search function is useful when searching for terms or finding people by name or location.

Twitter groups – Twitter groups are great for finding people with similar interests and adding them as followers. You can also join a group and your twitter name will be featured for others to see and follow you.

Tweetbeep – Tweetbeep is just like Google alerts. You set up Tweetbeep to track when determined keywords are tweeted. Tweetbeep will search hourly, daily or weekly and you can sign-in to your tweetbeep account to check for tweets

Twitterfeed – Twitterfeed automatically posts blog feeds as you add entries.

These are just some of the many tools you can use to get the most from twitter…so give them a try and happy tweeting!

Also, check out The Ultimate Twitter Guide and Twitter for Attorneys.

7 responses to “Due to my twitter obsession…

  1. Hey there Jen, Great list you have here. Have you tried Tweetdeck? thats my new Fav Twitter client.

    • I actually just checked it out the other day…definitely going to start using it. Thanks for reading and for the suggestion! šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Jen!!! I’m trying sooo hard to understand this whole Twitter phenomenon, you’re tutorial is most appreciated šŸ™‚

  3. and if you ever get an iPhone, multiply the enthusiasm by about 12. I just got it and there are some really cool twitter aps; it’s a little overwhelming. šŸ™‚

    Have a good weekend.

  4. I’m having a blast on Twitter and learning a lot from posts like this.

  5. Pingback: A Paper About Twitter « The VIP Blog

Leave a Reply

